11 Nebraska Hospitals Named Blue Distinction Centers

Blue Distinction® Designation Aids Consumers in Choosing
High-Performing Hospitals

OMAHA (May 31, 2013) – Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska (BCBSNE) has recognized 11 Nebraska hospitals as Blue Distinction Centers in the areas of knee and hip replacements, and spine surgery.

Blue Distinction Centers are part of a national designation program recognizing hospitals that meet quality-focused criteria surrounding patient safety and outcomes. For those hospitals that meet these quality standards and demonstrate cost-efficiency, they are recognized as a Blue Distinction Centers+.

The 11 Nebraska hospitals recognized are: (Blue Distinction Centers+ = BDC+, Blue Distinction Center = BDC)
  • Nebraska Spine Hospital (Omaha) – BDC+: Spine Surgery
  • Saint Elizabeth Regional Medical Center (Lincoln) – BDC+: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • The Nebraska Medical Center (Omaha) - BDC+: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Alegent Creighton Health – Immanuel Medical Center (Omaha) – BDC: Spine Surgery, BDC+: Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Alegent Creighton Health – Bergan Mercy Medical Center (Omaha) – BDC: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Alegent Creighton Health – Lakeside Hospital (Omaha) – BDC: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • BryanLGH West (Lincoln) – BDC: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Nebraska Methodist Hospital (Omaha) – BDC: Spine Surgery, Knee and Hip Replacements
  • BryanLGH East (Lincoln) – BDC: Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Fremont Area Medical Center (Fremont) – BDC: Knee and Hip Replacements
  • Saint Francis Medical Center (Grand Island) – BDC: Knee and Hip Replacements

“Selecting a Blue Distinction Center gives consumers added confidence that you’re making a wise decision when it comes to your health care,” said Dr. Dave Filipi, BCBSNE medical director. “We encourage Nebraskans to shop and compare for all their health care needs, whether it’s a hospital, doctor or medical tests. For hospitals, Blue Distinction Centers are a good place to start.”

For more information, contact Nathan Odgaard, (402) 982-6528.


Affordable Care act

The Affordable Care Act (ACA), sometimes called Obamacare, is a federal law designed to make health care more affordable, accessible and of higher quality.


The percentage of the bill you pay after your deductible has been met.


A fixed amount you pay when you get a covered health service.


The annual amount you pay for covered health services before your insurance begins to pay.

emergency care services

Any covered services received in a hospital emergency room setting.

health insurance marketplace (exchange)

The government Website (healthcare.gov) where you can purchase health insurance and see if you qualify for a tax credit (subsidy) to help pay premiums and out-of-pocket costs. 

in-network provider

A provider contracted by your insurance company to accept an agreed upon payment for covered services. 

OUT-OF-network provider

A term for providers that aren’t contracting with your insurance company. (Your out-of-pocket costs will tend to be more expensive if you go to an out-of-network provider.)


Your expenses for medical care that aren’t reimbursed by insurance, including deductibles, coinsurance and co-payments.


If you can afford health insurance, but choose not to buy it, you must have a health coverage exemption or pay a tax penalty on your federal income tax return.


The amount you pay to your health insurance company each month. 

Preventive services

Health care services that focus on the prevention of disease and health maintenance.


Services and devices to help you recover if you are injured or have surgery. This includes physical, occupational and speech therapy.

special enrollment period

The time after the Open Enrollment Period when you can still purchase health insurance only if you have a qualifying life event (losing other health coverage, having a baby, getting married, moving).


A physician who has a majority of his or her practice in fields other than internal or general medicine, obstetrics/gynecology, pediatrics or family practice.


Includes behavioral health treatment, counseling, and psychotherapy.

tax credit

Financial assistance from the government that helps those who are eligible pay for health insurance. Eligibility is generally determined by household income and family size.

Tiered benefit plan

A health care plan featuring multiple levels of benefits based on the network status of a particular provider.